the amandzing way

Home » Poetry » searching

searching

i’m searching
for Africa in me
to satisfy my reawakening
my new awareness of life around me
i need to justify this space I occupy
made easy for me with the sweat of a black sisters brow
the blood of a black brothers heart
stains my white African soul
and I’m seeking to make amends
to get involved
to give back
to heal broken rhythms means
i have to change my beat
to walk a different path is harder
than playing in an indifferent world

amanda

3 Comments

  1. tomachfive says:

    Ah so true, so beautiful…

  2. amandzing says:

    Thank you 🙂

  3. ozymandiaz says:

    if nothing else, at least you seek, there is value in the endeavor, indeed the journey is truth

Leave a Reply

