the amandzing way

Home » Poetry » may I speak in your defence

may I speak in your defence

may I speak in your defence
dead cop
against those who would say
if you live by the sword
so shall you die
by the sword
may I tell them
dead cop
its because of your death
they get to say that
if you live by the sword
so shall you die
by the sword

its because of your death
the bullet that you took
for them, for their sisters
brothers; fathers; mothers
its because of your death
one? two? three? more families
sleep tonight, work tomorrow,
live now
its all because of you
dead cop
so instead of whining
if you live by the sword
so shall you die
by the sword

perhaps they should be saying
thank you
for not letting me
be put to the sword
hero cop

 amanda

1 Comment

  1. nectarfizz says:

    I think I am learning how wonderful your work is the more I read…wow..this one is a favorite! Powerful stuff.

Leave a Reply

