the amandzing way

Home » Poetry » i’m lost

i’m lost

i’m lost
in my country
i don’t belong here
don’t know my ancestors
divorced from my ground
denied my heritage
white African
without a home
i’m also angry
self-acknowledged privileged fury
at apartheid’s culpability
put on me, my children, their children
indoctrinated european punk
simply accepting propagandist junk
black against white
when can we make it right?
righting wrongs finding the human in black
evil, heathen, communist black
who’s black? roads are black
i have your back
and i’m giving back
Afrika Mayibuye!
i feel you
see you,
cry…
my blood into you
making me part
of you

amanda

4 Comments

  1. SanityFound says:

    Incredible poem and I am with you, feel you and know what you are talking about for it is in my heart as it is yours, one African to another…

    Thank you.

  2. cjwriter says:

    I just came across your blog and this is such a beautiful, powerful poem… you can feel your heart and soul pouring through the words, evocative of past and future, of what might be possible. Change starts with each person, one at a time, and this kind of message is what Africa (and the world) needs right now… beautiful. Thank you for sharing it.

    Thank you.

  3. byrningbunny says:

    This could have been written by my partner — the sentiments I hear frequently. Very powerful!

    I`m very sorry about your cat.

    thank you byrningbunny, i love your nic! 😀

  4. abnegation says:

    overwhelmingly beautiful and passionate!

    and an excellent bookend (“My name is”)!

    thank you

Leave a Reply

